Know Your Peer: Lauren Mery

It’s the fourth week of the Know Your Peer spotlight! In these posts, we interview one of the peer mentors to get their perspective on working as a Peer Mentor, studying at Sheridan and life outside of school!

This week’s post features Lauren Mery, a first year Peer Mentor from the Davis Campus!

What’s your name?

Lauren Mery.

What program are you in?

Bachelor of Early Childhood Leadership.

What do you like to do when you aren’t at school or helping students? 

I love to go for long walks with my dog. Rain or shine, I love to walk to the park or around forestry areas. The fresh air feels awesome and it’s a great way to de-stress during exam time. 🙂

Fun fact about you? (Talent, etc;): 

I’ve driven a zamboni.

How long have you been a Peer Mentor for? 

This is my first year as a Student Advisement Peer

Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor? 

I decided to be a peer mentor because of my peer mentor when I was in my first year. She helped me a lot and answered a lot of my questions. She was a great source of information and the first friend I had at Sheridan.

What was your first year like?

Fast. My first year flew by. Although it was hard, I made a lot of great friends, I learned a lot about my field of study. It was a whirlwind of excitement and hard work. I loved every minute of it.

Any tips you can share from experience? 

A tip that really helped me was having a calender on hand. Your Sheridan Agenda works perfectly! With all the important dates and assignments piling up for various different classes, it was great to have a calender to keep me organized. I colour coded my classes and highlighted all my assignments.

lareun

Leave a Reply

