Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor!

Week 1 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer spotlight is here! Today’s post features Genevieve (a.k.a Gigi), a first year Peer Mentor from the Davis Campus! She is going to be giving you her perspective on working as a Peer Mentor, studying at Sheridan and life outside of school!

  1. What program are you in?

I’m in my third semester of the Paralegal Program.

  1. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor?

The best part about being a Peer Mentor is making connections with first year students and seeing the progress that they  make as a result of our guidance.

  1. Give us a fun fact about yourself.

I don’t know about a fun fact, but a weird fact about me is that I really enjoy listening to music, reading a book and watching TV all at the same time. I like being able to challenge my mind to focus on one thing at a time.

  1. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I decided to become a Peer Mentor because I woke up one day and realized that I was going into my final year at Sheridan and I didn’t have much to show for it. I wanted to be able to have fun and create memories and connections. That’s exactly what I’m doing and I couldn’t be happier.

  1. What was your first year like?

My first year at Sheridan was exhilarating and terrifying at the same time. I liked the idea of being able to be my own person, but it also terrified me that no one knew who I was. Eventually, I came to the realization that if you put in positive energy, that’s exactly what you’ll get in return.

  1. What advice would you give to your first year self?

Don’t worry so much. You don’t have to do everything by yourself. Sheridan has resources that are available to help you get through anything in your life whether it’s personal or academically related. Work hard and don’t ever be afraid to reap the rewards of your hard work and success.

 

Leave a Reply

