Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor!

Week 2 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor spotlight is here! Today’s post features Meagan Byrne, a first year Peer Mentor from the Trafalgar Campus! She is going to be giving you some insight on her life as a Peer Mentor and what it means to help others!

Meagan

  1. What program are you in?

B.A. Game Design.

  1. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor?

Helping people. It has seriously been the best part of this job. It can be hard going to Post Secondary and I want to help make some student’s lives just a little bit easier.

  1. What is your favourite thing to do?

My Favorite thing to do is to bake something. I don’t get to do it a lot because of how busy I am, but when I do it’s just the best.

  1. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I was asked if I would be interested and after hearing what kind of work I would be doing, I decided to apply.

  1. What was your first year like?

Really hard. It wasn’t the hardest experiences I’ve had at school, but I was coming back to school after being out in the workforce for a while and it was a hard transition at first. But I had great teachers, I made a good group of friends and I had a wonderful counselor so by the end of the year everything that seemed so big and difficult at the beginning didn’t seem so bad at the end.

  1. What advice would you give to your first year self?

Chill out. Stressing about stuff you have no control over is not going to get you anywhere…also run (or workout) more. Being in a program that requires you to constantly sit can really wear on you if you’re not combating it with exercise.

Leave a Reply

