Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor!

Megan Blakes

Week 3 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor spotlight is here! Today’s post features Megan Blakes, a first year Peer Mentor from the Trafalgar Campus! She is going to be giving you some insight on her life as a Peer Mentor and what it means to help others!

  1. What program are you in?

Bachelor of Illustration

  1. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor?

Helping out students with the range of questions they have for us. Big or small, we are here to help.

  1. Give us a fun fact about you.

I am passionate about Kanye West’s music.

  1. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I feel my history as a STAR really influenced me to become a Peer Mentor. When working with students as a STAR, I got to hear their journey of how they came to Sheridan. Though I was only giving general campus tours, I wanted to become even more knowledgeable about the campuses and the programs Sheridan offers. Becoming a Peer Mentor allows me to further connect with the students past their initial story I would get as a STAR and see them through their journey at Sheridan.

  1. What was your first year like?

My first year is kind of a blur to me. All I can remember is it was a very confusing time for me as it is for all first year students. This is the year it really begins to kick in that you’re an independent adult now.

  1. What advice would you give to your first year self?

Do not be afraid to ask questions. Student Advisement is a resource that you should fully take advantage of if you have any concerns.

Leave a Reply

