Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor!

Lauren Mery

Week 4 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor spotlight is here! Today’s post features Lauren Mery, a second year Peer Mentor from the Davis Campus! She is going to shed some light on being a Peer Mentor and her first year experiences!

  1. What program are you in? 

I am in the Bachelor of Early Childhood Leadership.

  1. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor? 

The best part about being a Peer Mentor is meeting all the mentees and building connections with them. I love answering their questions and building a positive relationship with them.

  1. What is your favourite thing to do?

My favourite thing to do is go for walks. I love to be outside.

  1. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I decided to become a Peer Mentor after my first year at Sheridan College. My Peer Mentor really helped me and always took the time to answer my questions. She really made my first year at Sheridan a successful one!

  1. What was your first year like?

Scary. I had come straight from high school and felt really lost and alone. I didn’t know what my program was going to be like, what was expected of me or who I could turn to. After my first week, I made some new friends and was more used to the school. My first year was a really scary but great learning experience.

  1. What advice would you give to your first year self?

Advice I would give my first year self is to ask questions. I felt really shy and I didn’t want others to know I was confused. I’ve learned that having questions isn’t a bad thing; it’s helped me learn so much.

Leave a Reply

