Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor!

Week 6 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor spotlight is here! Today’s post features Sabrina Mohess, a first year Peer Mentor from the Davis Campus! She is going to tell us about her experience as a Peer Mentor!

1. What program are you in?

Paralegal Program

2. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor?

I’ve really enjoyed getting to know all of my mentees these past few months. It’s great to know that I am making a difference in their first year at Sheridan. I’ve also enjoyed having a larger role in the Sheridan Community. As a First Year Connections Peer Mentor, we get to plan and take part in a lot of events, which has been amazing to do.

3. Give us a fun fact about you!

I’m double jointed in my fingers; it’s hilarious to see people’s reactions to it!

4. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I decided to become a Peer Mentor because I wanted to make a difference in the lives of first year students. I remember when I first graduated from high school I was very overwhelmed with the post secondary world. I wanted to be able to offer students guidance and let them know that, though it may be overwhelming, they will be able to survive their first year.

5. What was your first year like?

My first year was amazing. I really enjoyed all of my classes and getting to know people in my program.

6. What advice would you give to your first year self?

If I could give advice to my first year self, I would say to get more involved, as I was definitely that person that came to school just for classes and went home. Join clubs, sports teams; just find something that interests you! School is a lot more enjoyable when you are engaged with the community.

Leave a Reply

