Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor

Week 9 of the Know Your First Year Connections Peer Mentor spotlight is here! Today’s post features Daniel Mejia, a first year Peer Mentor from the Davis Campus! He is going to shed some light on the things he loves most about being a Peer Mentor!

Daniel Mejia

  1. What program are you in?

I am in my second year of the Child and Youth Care program!

  1. What is the best part about being a Peer Mentor?

I think the best part about being a Peer Mentor would be all of the great people I’ve got to meet. I’ve made such great friends who have been supportive and have helped make all of my days so enjoyable. Along with that there have been so many other students I’ve had a chance to chat with, get to know, learn about their passions, and helping them any way I can to achieve their goals has been extremely fulfilling. Being a Peer Mentor has provided me with so much growth and experience that it will definitely be something I will remember fondly.

  1. Give us a fun fact about you.

I have this habit whenever I see a dog, whatever size it may be, and instantly shout (with excitement) “PUPPY!” Then ask if I may pet them.

  1. Why did you decide to become a Peer Mentor?

I was looking for something to add to my routine. My first year was all about my classes, studying and assignments and I felt like I needed to shake things up a bit. I had met the Peer Mentor for my program and noticed so many skills and attributes that I would have loved to have or even work on. I also wanted to be able to help make a difference for someone coming into a new setting, whether it’s their first time or not. To help that transition be a little smoother in whatever way I can.

  1. What was your first year like?

My first year was a little scary. I had been out of school for a year so I was a little nervous coming back into school. It proved to be difficult because it wasn’t exactly a program I had a huge interest in, I found a lack of engagement, and enthusiasm in myself doing what I was doing and struggled to keep up. It had taken me a couple tries trying out different programs until I had found one that struck a chord in me, and found my passions within the Child and Youth Care program.

  1. What advice would you give to your first year self?

What advice would I give myself? So much, but I think more than anything is to take the time to find something that you want. Ask yourself questions like “What drives you?” “What’s that one thing you always find yourself doing?” “Is this really for me?” and the most important thing “Do I see myself doing this?” Don’t be afraid to experiment with what Sheridan has to offer, it is your future.

Leave a Reply

